New Year’s Eve 2011 time for the typical New Year’s Resolutions that you know you’ll break. This blog will be an attempt to make lasting changes for both me and my children, because in the end….actions count!

Physical Goals:

Lose 20 pounds. Okay, let’s be honest, I’d be satisfied with 10 pounds and happy with 15. Do this by working out at gym 2-3 times a week and doing some type of cardio (mostly likely with kids) – 2-3 times week. This is on top of walking in the mornings for my sanity.

Eat 5 fruits or vegetables a day. This is a family goal – everyone in family included. Buy blueberries, bananas and apples more readily. Experiment with new vegetables.

Spiritual and Emotional Goals:

Volunteer weekly. I’d like a regular gig but will take a monthly opportunity as well. In short term, contact Salvation Army and soup kitchens to see if kids can help as well. If not, find viable options and write on the calendar. Family goal.

Communicate more efficiently in marriage. Fifteen years ago on this evening, I met my soon-to-be-husband. I’ve gone from a single, independent, working woman to a stay-at-home mom of three children.  We get along well but it could always be better. Increase regular date nights. Be more positive.

Parenting Goals:

Bring music into our lives more. Buy piano and books. Arrange for regular lessons (from me or teacher or computer program) for daughter and possibly son. Practice my piano and flute twice a week.

Discipline consistently – especially our preschooler who is becoming a handful.

Encourage positive interaction between older two siblings. Decrease electronic usage. Increase chores and family contributions. Increase allowance/pay for these chores.

 Personal Improvement:

Pursue at least one “career” path. Go back to school, get a temp job, or read a ton of books to decide which way I want my life to go. It’s great to have the opportunity to pursue whatever I like, but without a vision, it’s a wasted opportunity. Find the vision or passion.

Blog daily. Okay, four times a week would be good. Blogging will help me determine if writing is a viable career path for me. 

 “If you focus on results, you will never change. If you focus on change, you will get results.” ~Jack Dixon as posted at tinybuddha.com

