It seemed innocent enough – visit a gorgeous local park complete with short walking path and open green spaces. I challenged my eight-year-old son to run with me around the pond. It was probably only 1/4 mile around but I did it slowly and with heavy legs.

The walk took us to a less crowded picnic area where we played Tag. I quickly declared where the bases were and used them liberally. Only 15 minutes of this and I was DONE. The possiblity of a 5K is a long way off but it was something.

 

Women gather together to wear silly hats, eat dainty food, and forget how unresponsive their husbands are.  Men gather to talk sports, eat heavy food, and forget how demanding their wives are.  Only where children gather is there any real chance of fun.  ~Mignon McLaughlin, The Neurotic’s Notebook, 1960

