Boy do we eat a lot of milk and wheat! My son’s lunches are easy enough to pack. He likes fruit and the rice cakes I bought him are a treat. Add a little grilled chicken and we’re good to go.

Dinner is a different story. Many of my regular meals call for pasta, milk or eggs. I serve a side dish like corn (a no-no in the elimination diet) because he doesn’t like it. No hard feelings. But when I put some bread on the table tonight, it got a little ugly.

Poor guy just wanted to be able to eat some bread with his soup. To set a good example, I didn’t have any either. (Of course, I ate a big serving of off-limits ice cream the minute he was asleep.) It’s going to be a long two weeks and nothing has changed yet. His stomach is a 7 before eating and a 10 after the first bite.

Breakfast: Rice chex and Rice Krispies, smoothie

Lunch: Rick cake, grilled chicken, black-eyed peas, apple

Dinner: White Chicken Chili, cantaloupe, strawberries

Snack: Smoothie (strawberries, bananas, spinach, orange juice)

All the adversity I’ve had in my life, all my troubles and obstacles, have strengthened me… You may not realize it when it happens, but a kick in the teeth may be the best thing in the world for you.  – Walt Disney

